Stumbling Blocks

The attentive reader will notice that I haven’t exactly been very successful at NaBloPoMo thus far. Thursday’s post actually went up on Friday morning; yesterday’s post is suspiciously nonexistent.

I’m not particularly concerned. At best, I’ll treat this month as more of a “30 posts in 30 days” challenge; at worst, I’ll miss several days and still have written twenty-some more posts than I would have otherwise. And even if some of them are mediocre posts at best, they get me back into the swing of writing.

I’m finding that this year is different from last year in several ways. My schedule is more consistent, yes, but with that consistent schedule has come a certain routine. I’m no longer willing to stay up until midnight on a regular basis; lately 10:30 is more my style, and even on the weekends I find myself getting tired around 11:00 or so.

More than that, though, I think I’ve simply fallen out of the habit of thinking like a writer. My list of blog post ideas has plenty of analytical and socially relevant topics on it, but finding the will to switch on that part of my mind after I’ve come home from work, put on pajamas, and made dinner is proving difficult.

Don’t take that to mean that I’m planning on stopping, of course. This is just going to take a little more adjustment than I had realized, and I’m totally okay with that.

Leave a Reply

