Where I’ve Been

Nearly seven months elapsed between my last real piece (March 7, 2015) and the NaBloPoMo announcement I put up yesterday–and as I noted in that post, it’s been almost a year since I was truly active here. While I try to keep this blog from being too mundanely personal, I think it’s worth taking a moment to look at where I am now compared to where I was then.

There are three big things that have changed since last November.

  1. I graduated, but you knew that already. I’ve been happily out of school for the better part of a year now. I walked at graduation with the rest of my year in May, which was probably far less exciting for me than it was for most of my peers. Because I clearly don’t know what’s good for me, I’m now looking into grad school. (I don’t want to talk about it.)
  2. I have a proper grown-up job now. Last year I spent nine months interning with Education Week, primarily writing for their Teaching Now blog. While I loved it, my credit card statement did not love it nearly as much. At the end of May, I took a full-time job at Georgetown University as an administrative assistant in the same department where I got my very first job as a student.
  3. I moved! While I was #blessed to have a roommate I actually liked last year, there’s a lot to be said for having a space that is completely, absolutely, 100% yours. Even when that space is a 480-square-foot studio.

Those are the big things–the overarching life changes that put me in a very different position from the one I was in this time last year. There are a lot of smaller things too: My mom moved to the DC suburbs this summer, I found myself a boy, I chopped off all my hair, I got a TV for the first time since high school, and I learned to love decorative candles, I developed a perhaps unhealthy obsession with the musical Hamilton.

What does that mean for the blog? Hopefully good things! If you look at those three big changes, they add up to a life with more free time, less stress, and consistent wifi. All of which are good things if I’m hoping to get back to regular blogging.

What’s the same? Well… most other things, really. I’m still largely the same person. I still have too many mugs, still love to cook, still read far fewer books than I intend to, still overuse parentheses, still get way too excited about anything covered in glitter. Still me, even after all this time.

Leave a Reply

