A Brief Note on the New Year

My mom always says that what you’re doing at midnight on New Year’s is what you’ll be doing for the rest of the year. If that’s the case, then I’ll be spending 2015 working and hiding in coat closets.* Yes, I was at work on New Year’s Eve–not exactly the most auspicious start to the year, truth be told.

First impressions are important, but I suspect that in this case, 2015’s thoroughly meh first impression on me doesn’t necessarily mean anything. For the first time in several years, I don’t know where the next 365 days will take me. After 17 years, I finally find myself facing a year where I won’t be going to school. By January 1, 2016, I will almost certainly have a new job and a new apartment, possibly in a new city. All of those things, and many others, are up in the air, and only time will tell how they will fall.

Regardless of how much working and closet-hiding I do this year, it’s going to be an adventure. Out with the old, and in with the new–allons-y!

*To clarify: It was a very nice coat closet. More like a small office that also happens to store coats. I was “changing my shoes” before I went home after I was done with work.

Leave a comment