Taking On NaNaMoMo, One Blog Post at a Time

NaBloPoMo November 2014November, for reasons that are unclear to me, seems to have become NaNaMoMo in recent years: National “National Month” Month.* No-Shave November/Movember. Dinovember. And the most important for the purposes of the next 400 words: National Novel Writing Month and National Blog Post Month.

If you’re at all a writerly or nerdy type, you’ve probably at least heard of one or both of these. NaNoWriMo challenges aspiring writers to crank out a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. NaBloPoMo is its younger, more tech-inclined sibling and asks simply that participants post to their blogs every day in November. It was started by a former NaNo-er who wanted a slightly more manageable goal. Technically, NaBloPoMo–now hosted by BlogHer, a blogging community for women (and men, but mostly women)–happens every month. November, however, is when it all started, and it remains the most popular month for the challenge.

I’m no stranger to NaNoWriMo. I hit the 50K goal three years in a row in high school, writing my little heart out at lunch and spending all of Thanksgiving break furiously typing to catch up before the end of the month. I haven’t touched a single one of those novels in the years since, which is probably for the best. (Side note: I’m pretty sure there’s a copy of the third novel on a flash drive I lent out once and never got back. I can only hope that the flash drive has been lost to the ages and/or cleared entirely.) I’ve tried for three more years, but I inevitably write for about two days and then just spend the rest of the month feeling vaguely disappointed in myself.

This year, I’m recognizing up front that I probably don’t have the enthusiasm or inspiration for NaNoWriMo. I do, however, have a blog that is in dire need of some attention. This morning, I became the 723rd blogger to sign up for this month’s NaBloPoMo.

I’m not making any promises about the quality of these blog posts. Some of them may be brilliant. Some of them may be mediocre. Some of them may be so short that they barely count as blog posts. Some of them may be backdated because I forgot to put them up before midnight. (Shhhh. Don’t tell.) But I know one thing: There will be 30 of them.

To all the novel-writers, mustache-growers, and dino-arrangers, and, of course, to my fellow bloggers: I wish you the best of luck. To all six of my readers and to the Facebook friends and Twitter followers who will be seeing rather a lot of self-promotion for the next four-and-a-bit weeks: Bear with me. It’s going to be a bumpy ride.

*Google tells me that NaNaMoMo commonly refers to National Nap More Month, which I would also be totally okay with.

Leave a Reply

