On How I’m Slightly Worried About Becoming a Fictional Character

In the movie Stranger Than Fiction (which you should go watch if you haven’t already), Will Ferrell meets a rebellious baker named Ana Pascal.  After studying law at Harvard, Ana eventually realizes that she’s far more interested in baking goodies for her study groups than she is in actually studying.  She drops out and becomes a tax-evading baker because, as she puts it, “I figured if I was gonna make the world a better place… I would do it with cookies.”

I am kind of worried that someday in the not-so-far-off future, I will become Ana Pascal.  Minus the tax evasion.

Because I’m at Georgetown, a school that I like to pretend is almost as prestigious as Harvard.  And because sometimes most of the time, I would rather bake pretzels or read food blogs than work on my French composition.  And because like Miss Pascal, I currently have ill-defined career goals that more or less amount to “make the world a better place”.

For now, I’m managing to stick to studying my major and figuring out what exactly one does with a BSFS in Culture and Politics.  But that doesn’t mean that I don’t have a plan for my bakery/used bookstore hiding in the back of my head somewhere.

Cross-posted from my food blog, which clearly didn’t work out for me.  Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

